Guys have always seemed to be pretty good at socializing - they have that whole hunting, fishing, team sport thing going for them so that interacting with other guys is pretty natural. For girls not so much.
Tonight was GNO (girls night out). I have the good fortune to be able to associate with some amazing women on a regular basis. (You might be thinking so what?) This is a big deal for me; when I was young I believed all girls were little catty witches who grew up to become great big ___(rhymes with witches). I believed this for the first four decades of my life and consequently had very few female friends (imagine that).
What I have discovered is that there are a number of women like myself who eschew the drama and pettiness. These women are smart, kind, creative, confident, exciting and going places! I call them women of purpose. Gather a few of these big-girl-panty-wearing get-it-done type of ladies and it is powerful! That doesn't mean you won't run into a few test pilots for the broom company every once in awhile but they stick out and don't seem to stick around.
You never know who you can help, who can help you or what fantastic friendship might be waiting just around the corner - and you never will if you don't turn the corner. If you have a friend who has invited you to a girls night out, luncheon or some other type of "ladies only" function I encourage you to go; it's a great way to recharge your batteries, realize you're not alone and where to find the best margaritas!
I love the phase test pilot for the broom company! You are so on point. Yes, we are socialized differently beginning around age 3.
ReplyDeleteCongratulations on promoting Girl Power!